Copyright 2018 - Dundee Roadrunners

Templeton Trail Race



Thank you to everyone who helped to make the 2017 Templeton Trail race another success.  It was held on a beautiful sunny night,  with a record turnout of 133 runners, largely due to our friends from Falkland Trail Runners and Kinross Road Runners who included the race into their respective club championships.  Well done to all our runners; we really hope you enjoyed the run and the post run BBQ.  Here are the official results.

If you enjoyed the race and would like to sign up for our next event, Templeton 10 Mile Race is on November 6th and entry is now open on entrycentral.


Inaugural Stirling Scottish Marathon


Race Report and Results:  Stirling Scottish Marathon.

Congratulations to the 11 DRRs who took part in the first Stirling Scottish Marathon this month.

Number Runner Time

452Morag Taggart3:30:16 (1st in age group)
560David Aitken3:35:31
822Paul Reed3:45:19
856Jo Clancy3:46:21
894Michael Royden3:47:19
1171Ashley Casano3:54:54
1248Andrew Thomas3:56:34
1764Sarah Jane Wenn4:08:35
2233 Sharon Russell 4:21:48
2733Emer Conway4:34:59


And a big thank you goes to Ashley Casano who has written a great report to help those contemplating entering in future.  The report is summarised below and the full article can be found in the race report section of the website, here.  


Summary Race Report by Ashley Casano

On Sunday, May 21st, over 4,000 runners lined up at the Blair Drummond Safari Park to take part in the first ever Stirling Scottish Marathon, organized by Great Run. The next 26.2 miles followed rolling hills and country roads through Doune and Dublane, leading runners past the iconic William Wallace Monument and back to the Stirling city centre where they finished with the Stirling Castle in the background. Eleven members of the Dundee Road Runners took place in the inaugural event, with several PBs from club members as well as strong debut performances from first time marathoners.  

2nd Grand Prix Race


We had another awesome DRR turnout at the second in our grand prix races for 2017.   Thanks to all of our members who represented the club at this tough race!

Tristan Reece from Fife AC won in 25:28 with Nicola Roder the first female home in 31:17

An impressive 32 DRR runners took part: 

Position Name Time
Michael Gillies 00:28:33
42 Kevin Greig 00:32:39
48 Matty Low 00:33:13
59 Jim Morton 00:34:13
62 Arnaud Richard 00:34:20
69 James Allan 00:35:05
79 Craig Beattie 00:35:52
86 Jennifer Massie 00:36:21
87 David Aitken 00:36:23
91 Scott Henderson 00:36:44
93 Richard Tollerr 00:36:48
96 George Steel 00:37:00
105 Andrew Deans 00:37:27
114 Gina Easson 00:38:10
121 John Tierney 00:38:38
129 Peter Connolly 00:39:50
131 John McIntosh 00:39:56
132 Ron Fraser 00:40:00
140 Lorraine Dunbar 00:40:42
149 Barbara Sweeney 00:41:47
151 Lucia Tisnes 00:42:05
156 Wayne Morris 00:42:59
159 Alison McIntosh 00:43:11
162 Brian Stewart 00:43:39
169 Sofia Sita 00:44:12
170 Vvicky Mmitchell 00:44:30
171 Matthew Hooper 00:44:37
179 Margaret Mackie 00:47:11
181 Brian Dunbarr 00:47:45
182 Lesley Coutts 00:47:58
186 Wendy Hutcheson 00:48:43
189 Ruth Toller 00:49:15

John McInally Race


Well done to the great crowd of 49 runners who took part in our annual John McInally club race tonight.  The race is just over 10k route starting and finishing in Clatto County Park.  Congratulations to Matty Low for retaining his title in 42m08s and to Jennifer Massie (who is quickly getting her mojo back) for winning the women's title in 45m08s.  We hope they didn't fight too fiercely over who got to take the cup home!  

We also had age category prizes to give out:  David Rodley showed that you can still be ridiculously fast in your sixties by storming home in just 43:57 and coming in second overall;  Margaret Gamble won the F50 category in 47:41 and Jim Morton was the fastest M50 with a time of 45:26;  Martin Hutchinson came home second overall, winning the M40 category in 43:15 and Gillian Sangster won the F40 category in an impressive 47:05 - despite her broken rib!  

Thanks also to Scott and Lynne for aiding and abetting at the race and to Alison for providing the vital flour arrows along the course.  Full results here.

First Grand Prix Race for 2017

GRAND PRIX RACE # 1:  Strathkinness - Blebocraigs 

There was a great DRR turnout over in North Fife on Wednesday for this 4.6mile mixed terrain road/trail race.  Unattached runner, Russell Hall was first home in a time of 25:50 with our own Robbie Dunlop coming in 3rd less than a minute behind.  First female home was Heather Anderson from host club, Fife AC.  We had a large team 27 DRR runners in a total field of 143.   

grand prix


Well done to all members, places and times were as follows: 

Position Runner Time

Robbie Dunlop 26:39
Michael Gillies 27:06
24 Martin Hutchinson 29:31

25 Michael Mitchell 29:34
26 Simon Knox 29:39
36 Duncan Edward 30:32
38 Kevin Greig 30:38
46 Jim Morton 31:14
48 Richard Grieve 31:27
49 Arnaud Richard 31:31
51 Jennifer Massie 31:39
58 Craig Beattie 32:02
59 Paul Reed 32:05
62 David Dunleavey 32:19
63 George Steel 32:20
84 David Aitken 34:24
87 Fiona Callaghan 34:42
100 Lorraine Dunbar 36:09
106 Gill Westwater 36:46
118 Wayne Morris 39:06
119 Alison McIntosh 39:13
123 Sofia Sita 39:36
130 Matt Hooper (Filbert) 41:17
131 Brian Dunbar 41:54
133 Louise Stewart 42:14
135 Margaret Louise Mackie 42:51
DNF Sarah Jane Wenn 

This was just the first of the  races in our grand prix, so plenty of time left to take part.  Don't forget, you need to run in 5 of the 8 races to qualify for a prize.  The next in line is Kinnoull Hill Race, which is on Thursday 18th May.  You can find full details of the grand prix here. 


Follow us on Social Media